• Donna

Master of The Elements

said 6 years, 5 months ago

Being an older person :) and a devote fan of ATLA I really wanted to have a crack at Cosplay and it’s been on my to do list before I die type thing… so this year I decided, not getting any younger, time to do something about this….

We have a Kiwi version of Comic Con here in New Zealand called Armageddon, and decided that this is the year I’m going to do it… so I chose Avatar YangChen, one of Aangs previous incarnations – why cause I’m air by nature and love the Air Nomads… Also I studied Tai Chi for 3 years, and learnt Staff as a weapon, so have some of the moves down pat :) Also I have Water, Earth and Fire elements within me too, so thought Avatar YangChen is a great fit :)

So after trawling the net and finding any descent pictures of her, which there are a few, I took them to my friend who does my Druid outfits for me, and asked her to help me create Avatar Yangchens’ outfit… So after initial designs – me tweeking and her drawing up the pattern, making a few more tweeks, we then handed it over to her amazing seamstress who created the most amazing costume!!!

It is made of Cotton Lycra, so it breathes and stretches… Problem – colors – the material was all white – so dying was needed… getting the right color a nightmare, till an internet search helped me discover these guys here in New Zealand – The Color Factory… So with a few emails and pictures sent via the internet they offered to try to dye the costume to the exact colors needed…